In 1932 the Congregational Cburch commissioned
a Mr. T.B.F. Gargett to design a new building for the same site. tbe foundation stone of
this new cburch was laid in April 1933. In the same year Mrs. Wriggles, an active member
of tbe congregation, donated three stained glass windows in memory of ber son, husband and
tbree daughters. It was originally built with the two cupolas. These were added later.
December 1975 The South Brizbane Congregatianal Church held its last service. Due to
falling attendances the church was sold to the Free Serbian Orthodox Church who made their
mark by adding the two cupolas.
1975 ARCHITECTURAL REPORT
Ihis 1933 building by T.B.F. Gargett is of masonary construction, and is octagonal in
plan form. Tbe two towers, one octagonal, and one bexagonal, were added after 1975, and
bave semi-circular arcbed windows, rendered sill and head bands, and domed cupolas
surmounted by crosses. 'Ihe front faces of the building have spring arched windows in
triplets, each face separated by brick buttresses. The parapet over each face is
articulated in a manner tbat gives it a semi-castellated appearance. the side facing
Vulture Street has a small pedimented gable topped by a cross. 'Ibe main entry stairs rise
to either side of tbe entry vestibule with anotber three sprung arched openings in tbe
front face. A shield is centred on the parapet above the entry vestibule. The sides of the
building originally bad smaller ancillary rooms, the parapets of wbich stepped up towards
the main building. Only one of these remains intact on the left side. Apart fiom the
additions for the 1970's, the replac¨,ement of the original front fence, and tbe painting
of the brick parapet, the original external appearance is mostly intact.
STATEMENT OF SIGNIFICANCE
Ihe building is significant:
1. As it reflects the cultural diversity of South Brisbane and the patterns of
2. As an example of the work of the prominent Brisbane Architect T.B.F. Gargett.
3. For its unusual plan form.